Page 1 of 2

Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-18, 10:45
by micba01
After Upgrading my Teamcalpro installation for all IE-users the menubar is vanished. On my own system in Firefox everything is fine and in IE the menu isn't visible too.
Javascript is enabled and all users files "read"-rights (mentioned in an older thread).

What can i do?

Grts.
Michael Baumann

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-19, 11:31
by George
Hi Michael
what version of TCP are you using and what version of IE?
Best regards,
George

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-19, 12:09
by micba01
Hi George,

my IE-version is 11 and TCpro 3.6.014

rgts.
Michael

EDIT: After Updating the Webserver (Ubuntu 14.04) my firefox shows the same error....
Maybe there' s in inconsistency in some packets?

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-19, 16:18
by George
That is weird. That it worked in Firefox before and not in IE speaks for a loca problem. That is does not work for both now after the server upgrade speaks for a server problem, e.g. PHP version.
Is there any way I can access your instance?

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-20, 17:04
by micba01
Hi George,

accessing is difficult due to a firewall.
I checked today, there are only actual packets (php...) on the server. (ubuntu 14.04)

I just installed a fresh installation of tcpro on the server, copied the config.tcpro.php to this directory and linked my apache to this directory.... with the same effect.

Regards Michael

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-20, 21:30
by George
Do you get any error message? When you look at the source of the page, does it reveal any hint on what might be wrong?

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-21, 09:51
by micba01
There are some errors, when i debug the page in my firefox, shown in the screenshot.
Additional there are lots of warnings.
tcpro.JPG
tcpro.JPG (108.11 KiB) Viewed 4193 times

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-21, 11:08
by George
Hi
are there any errors in the source code of the page where the menu should be?
(Right click on the page -> View source)

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-24, 08:12
by micba01
Here's the source code picked from firefox.
sourcecode.zip
(13.84 KiB) Downloaded 129 times
regards
Michael

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-24, 22:33
by George
Hi Michael,
thanks for sending the source code. I checked it and didn't find anything wrong with it. To be sure I validated it aganst W3C (http://validator.w3.org/) and it passes with no errors.

Then I teste the code with four browsers:

Opera
test-opera.jpg
test-opera.jpg (95.69 KiB) Viewed 4184 times
Internet Explorer
test-ie.jpg
test-ie.jpg (83.71 KiB) Viewed 4184 times
Firefox
test-firefox.jpg
test-firefox.jpg (107.76 KiB) Viewed 4184 times
Chrome
test-chrome.jpg
test-chrome.jpg (94.44 KiB) Viewed 4184 times
As you can see, only IE cannot render it correctly for some reason. It definitely is not a problem of the code or platform. I must blame IE in this case.

Changing W3C compatible web applications in a way that they work in IE is not a good idea. It might not work in other compatible browsers anymore.The concept of having a W3C standard is that applications comply to it as well as browser manufacturers. Stepping away from the standard so that one non-standard browser is served violates that immensly.

I don't know whatelse to tell you. As a web developer I have been confronted with IE's W3C incompatibility many times before. That is the reason why I do not use that browser for years now. In my experience, Firefox is a relaibale reference browser, but as you can see, Opera and Chrome are good in this case as well.

I know that in some environments users cannot choose their browser and some of them are stuck with IE. But that is not a problem that one can solve on application side. I wouldn't even know how cuz TCP does everything right.

Sorry for not being of more help at this point.

Best regards,
George

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-25, 15:18
by micba01
Thanks for your help.

On our systems this occurs on all browser types. I think that something according the last update on the linux-box is responsible for that.
What softwarepakets on the server are used for displaying the menu? Maybe there is a version conflict. I checked Apache and php which are the actual ones.

Plan B: I set up a fresh linuxserver and transfer the database to this box....

regards Michael

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-25, 16:35
by micba01
Plan B is done....and finally, everything works again! (in IE too)
As mentioned before, i think something's wrong with the linux-pakets after updating the system.

Again: Thanks for your help!!!!
Regards Michael

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-25, 18:30
by George
Glad it worked out!

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-26, 10:16
by micba01
Unfortunately: after running upgrades on my linux-system the error is exists again!!!

As written before, i think the reason is one of this update-packets. My question now is: can you give me a hint, what packets are responsible e.g. the language used for the menu or something else?

Attached you find the install-log from the update (not really short ;-) )

regards Michael

Re: Missing Menu bar with IE

Posted: 2014-11-26, 15:46
by George
I do not have enough expertise to really make sense out of that log.
What we know is that the source HTML is created correctly and send to the client.
What the IE screenshot shows is that two imgaes, the logo and user icon (png) and the menu (javascript) is not displayed. The wo GIF iamges in the footer are shown.
Looks to me that the PNG files and the javascript is not transferred from the server to the client when it needs them.
Did anything change to the HTTP protocol or file transfer mode? Are certain file types disallowed? Are the permissions of those files and folders ok (can the world read them)?